Cookies

Basic sugar cookie recipe.

If you’re a cookie lover like me you know a good recipe when you taste one. Trust me when I say that this recipe has never let me down and always comes out tasting like Betty Crocker made them herself.

When I started spiralling down the decorated sugar cookie rabbit hole (which I assure you is a very real thing!) I didn’t have a good recipe so I went on the hunt and tried a few “best ever” recipes and ended up liking LilaLoas Vanilla 2.0 the best. (Check out her site! http://www.lilaloa.com I promise it is 100% worth your time. Just watch out for that rabbit hole! 2hrs can go by in a blink.

I’ve had some time play around with her recipe and make it work for me and in the end this is what I have boiled it down to:

Ingredients: 

1/2 cup butter or margarine (room temperature)
1/2 cup shortening (room temperature)
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated white sugar
2 extra large eggs
2 teaspoons extract of choice (vanilla is most common)
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 cups flour (3 1/2 for the dough and 1/2 for rolling)

20170617_145743

Instructions:

  • cream together butter, shortening and sugars until fluffy (medium speed)

20170617_150317

  • whisk eggs and extract together in separate bowl and then mix into the butter and sugar.

20170617_150657

  • Add salt and flour (half a cup at a time) low to medium speed.

 

 

  • mix until dough doesn’t stick to the sides of the bowl.
  • remove from bowl and onto a floured surface. I like to use these flexible cutting boards I bought at Bed Bath and Beyond because they are easy to stack and clean. You can find them Here
  • cut into 4 sections and place one onto each mat for rolling
  • roll to 1/4 inch or 3/8 inch thickness. I suggest using guides similar to these for even cookies (very helpful to have even cookies when flooding with icing)

 

  • instead of chilling my dough in a ball in the fridge like most sugar cookie recipes call for, I stack my cutting boards and place them in the top part of my freezer while I preheat the oven. By the time the oven has reached the correct temperature the dough is hard enough that I can cut and transfer the dough to baking sheets without ruining the shapes.

20170617_153658

  • preheat oven to 350°C
  • take out dough and cut to desired shapes

IMG_20170526_140017

  • transfer to parchment or silicon mat lined baking sheet
  • bake normal small cookies for 8mins, medium for 10mins and large for 12mins. just until the edge turn golden
  • remove from oven, let cool and then transfer to cooling rack

20170612_220227

Look at those beauts!!

This recipe almost never spreads because I have omitted the baking powder found in most classic recipes.

  • once completely cooled stack between pieces of paper towel in an air tight container. the paper towel absorbs and excess oil which can cause the butter to bleed into your icing. No one wants bleeding cookies lol unless you’re making your cookies for Dexter…

20170614_084620

See! No one likes butter bleed.. (more on icing issues here)

Storage:

Cookies can be stored in airtight container for up to a week on the counter. You can also put plastic wrap under the lid and store in the freezer for months. I currently have frozen decorated cookies that have been in my freezer for 3 months. I will let you know here how good they taste when I take them out.

You can also store the frozen rolled dough in an airtight container between parchment paper and plastic wrap under the lid until you are ready to bake. this is great if you had left over dough from a small order.

For a great icing recipe to complement your perfect (if I do say so myself) sugar cookies head over to my Royal Icing Recipe post.

If you have any questions leave a comment.

Thanks for reading!

Cheers, Angela ☕cropped-logomaker-1498228499487.png

 

One thought on “Basic sugar cookie recipe.

Leave a Reply

